Dragon and Me

Hello wonderful people!

My name is Alexey, I am an artist, a new person here on the forum and a completely new person in the animation field.

I saw the RagDoll presentation on youtube completely by accident, around a year ago, and I was absolutely blown away by the dynamics this tool gives to the models. It’s like it lets them be free…

That time I said to myself - I want to create a dragon, learn Maya and animate it in RagDoll.

While I have certain experience in modeling I am zero in animation. Someone who has just very basic idea of how it works.

So it took me 7 months to create this Draguan model. I used my beloved iguana pet as a reference. Was working on weekends and after work hours.

Now this is where I need your help and any suggestions from PROs like yourself will be greatly appreciated!
I learned the basics of Maya. Here is my first eye animation. What should I do next?

My understanding is - to start using RagDoll, the model has to have a rig, right?

I am trying to find a tutorial on how to rig a dragon but nothing seems to be good. Or I am looking at the wrong things. I am sooo much noob in it. Should I use an AdvancedSkeleton plugin? Should I use other things? Million other questions.

Any suggestions of dragon rig courses? I found one from Sophoria Academy. But it’s $1k. A bit too much for me.

Yes i am noob, but I can be very dedicated in learning.
Will greatly appreciate your time and suggestions!

What a lovely introduction, welcome aboard @RID :partying_face:

It may not look it, but it is my personal goal with Ragdoll to introduce artists such as yourself to the world of character animation. Today, it’s a tool primarily for experienced animators and the workflow shows that (it’s a bit technical). But within the next few months, this will change significantly.