Referencing rigs with ragdoll

Hello, I would like to know if (and how) I can set up ragdoll for a decently sized production using references. I’m saying this now: i’m just an animator, i dont usually deal much with tech topics.

So far I’ve tryed this simple test: I open a new scene, i reference my character’s control rig in there, i create the ragdoll setup.
Then I open a scene with animation of the said character (naturally, the control rig is referenced in there) and i replace reference with the file that contains the control rig + ragdoll setup.

When I do this, the character goes back to tpose and the animation is gone.
I tried this step many times and with variations (checking namespaces etc) but i never manage to see the animation after i reference in the ragdoll.

Is this the wrong approach? I see there’s a export/import physics since some times, only today i tried to use it but has a 10 capsules limit. If this is the only way to preserve the ragdoll rig between one scene and another , please let me know cause then i would need to upgrade the licenses.

thanks

Hi Morpai,

Having ragdoll in a reference is totally a valid workflow, why it’s not working for you is you’ll need to open the rig (not reference) - set the ragdoll up on that scene and save that file as a the new rig .

Since you’ve already setup ragdoll in a scene, you could very easily export your physics as a .rag file (Export Physics in the Ragdoll drop down menu) and import that physics into your opened file or use the import physics as a workflow to bring a full ragdoll setup into animation scenes that have referenced anim rigs .

Hope this helps

J

Hey Jason, thanks for your quick reply.

I had it set up in a way thet the ragdoll rig file was referencing the control rig file. And then my anims would not work because there was a “double nested reference” basically. I did what you suggested and now it does indeed work.