How do I assign a passive collider to a skinned mesh and have it follow the form of the skinned mesh throughout the animation?

I was trying to assign markers to a skinned mesh to simulate collisions but the marker doesnt follow the skinned meshes form. Its rigid and just stays in the origin. Is there any way of adding collisions to a skinned mesh or cloth sim so that that the ragdoll collides with the mesh? Im still really new to Ragdoll Dynamics so any help would be greatly appreciated!

Hi @Nithin_Piano, welcome to the forums! :partying_face:

Unfortunately, Ragdoll does not support deforming meshes. So it will only respect a mesh as it is when you replace the mesh. If you have History enabled in the Option dialog, it will respect changes made at the start frame, but will not deform over time.

The typical solution is to apply Markers to the skeleton of your character and adjust these to follow along with the rig.

If you have an example of what it is you are trying to do, I may be able to provide more tips and tricks.

Thank you so much for the quick response Marcus! I made a davy jones rig and was adding ragdoll to the tentacles. Needed a way for the tentacles to collide with the cloth sim on the body. But I think i can add the markers to the joints of the body and adjust them from there. Thanks again!

Very cool, that’s a very good usecase for Ragdoll. The tentacle animation would be transferred into the sim, whilst preserving contacts and momentum. Should look really good. Please do share anything you come up with if possible! :hear_no_evil:

So I ended up duplicating the shirt mesh, Contraining it to the root joint and then adding a marker so that the marker kind of takes the shape of the mesh. it kind of works for the scene cause its a walk cycle rig test. Will surely share the end result with ya! This plugin is literally a lifesaver!

1 Like

Hey Marcus so I used ragdoll for the tentacles. So far I’m over the moon with the results!

1 Like