Can you start from CONTROLS instead of JOINTS?

Hello,

I am new to Ragdoll and I am trying to set it up on Alpha from Agora. It’s a quite complicated rig already. Lot of Joints.

I am using the latest version of Ragdoll*

I have been trying to setup a Ragdoll using the CONTROLS and not the Joints. But I think I am missing something here, because I can’t get it to work.

All the videos I am watching use Joints and are not starting the setup from Controls…

I also tried to copy the settings from the ragdoll files available in the library but my legs and torso and arms fall separately I believe.

Can’t find a CLEAR video on how to setup a ragdoll by using CTRLS and NOT Joints.
I have been watching many of the videos, but nothing is really clear to me.

Could you make a video on this? I would like not to drop this tool, since I bought it…
Please help me understand how to set this up starting from a rig complicated like Alpha (available on Agora Community).

Thanks!

Hi @Sarah_Padoan, I’d be happy to make a video on this! Would it be possible to share what you’ve got already? That would help immensely in understanding where the hurdles may be. Also, if you can list the videos you’ve seen so far so I know where to begin and what to include and exclude in a new video.

For the rig, I found two alphas on the Agora site, which one would you like to see a video on?

Hi Matt,

Thank you for your answer. And apologies about my frustration quite perceivable I’m afraid.

Unfortunately the file crashed on me.

https://agora.community/content/alpha-maya
is the rig.

What I did was to create markers by selecting the controls. I didn’t use the “replace mesh” command yet.
Ragdoll created a lot of groups. One group for each limb… I thought it looked like too many groups.
I was selecting the controls together as in the hierarchy (first shoulder elbow and then hand for example).