Approach for Root Bone Animation

Hello everyone, first time posting here after using ragdoll for about a month! Love the ease and intuitiveness of it!

I was curious what was an acceptable workflow for using ragdoll and FBX export for root-motion in UE5 is? I am running into the issue where I am doing a ragdoll solver using only geo (no skeleton or rig) and when I attempt to utilize root motion within UE5, i am getting incorrect results (I believe UE5 requires the root bone to have no rotation on it, just translation, but when using geo this is does not seem to be an option).

Is it always a requirement to create a root-bone as a minimum instead of doing all geo when trying to use root motion in UE5?

Thanks,

Jocque

1 Like

Hey @jocque, welcome to the forums! :partying_face:

You might have to educate us on what a “root bone” is? Maybe you can show what you have coming out of Maya, what you end up with in Unreal and what you instead expect to see?

Thanks Marcus! I am very new to animation, so I will do my best :stuck_out_tongue:

From my understanding, the root bone is the sole controller of absolute location, like a marker on the ground below between the character’s feet and is used in gaming for moving characters around the map. That means it should not rotate but only translate… if may base geo (chest or pelvis or whatever in the character) could act as a root bone, then I would not need a rig/skeleton I believe. But when I back to keyframes all of the geo have rotation and translation…

The UE documentation around root motion is below:

I think part of the issue on my end is that I am still learning both animation and then placing it inside of unreal.

Jocque

Any chance we can see these results?

Here is an example of the issue:

Walking upright and great in Maya…

Then tilted over off the ground in UE5…

The root data (cylinder named robo) is here: