Appreciation post

Not sure if this is appropriate but I would like to show appreciation to Marcus for bringing us this amazing tool.

I’m a professional animator who is always on a look out for ways to make my life easier. I dont have much knowledge in maya’s dynamics (bullet, MASH etc) as it can be complicated and me always forgetting steps for simple dynamics. I’m also amazed but Richard Lico’s animation methodology that generate really organic animation for ‘free’ from a basic animation. I also find myself always having to animate tail-like animation that is time consuming and even created/purchased a couple of tools/scripts that will generate nice tail-like motion from existing animation. While all these are pretty cool, I can’t seem to find a fool proof tool that works seamlessly across different studio, Maya versions or rigs until now =)

I was first introduced to ragdoll dynamics by a colleague of mine and quickly got myself a trial license. I’m really amazed by it and for the first time, I felt this is a tool created with animator in mind. One doesn’t need much technical knowledge to operate it. I’ve used it for a couple of shows now and it really help speed up the process. Unfortunately, I dont have permission to show any of the work yet, hopefully I will be able to in the future.